Dive Deep Into Vedic Philosophy!

Ayurveda is known to be one of the oldest systems of healing known to man. It has its origins in ancient India. It is a medical science steeped in ancient Indian Philosophy and Spirituality, and is known as the sister science to Yoga. The two work closely hand-in-hand in helping us lead a balanced, healthy life. 

In Part I of this three-part series you will learn:

  • The Sanskrit meaning of the word Ayurveda
  • The Vedic origins of Ayurveda
  • The Six Philosphies at the heart of Ayurveda
  • The evolution of Consciousness into Matter
  • The 3 types of energy that constitute matter (gunas)
  • The 5 main elements and their attributes
  • An intro to the 3 main constitutional types (doshas)

You will gain a clear understanding of the basic philosophy behind Ayurveda and how it relates to the material world around us as well as to our own nature.

Course curriculum

  • 1

    Āyurvedic History and Basic Philosophy

    • Lesson 1: The Pre-Vedic Period

    • Lesson 2: The Vedic Om

    • Lesson 3: Meaning of Veda

    • Lesson 4: The Four Vedas

    • Lesson 5: The Four Parts of Each Veda

    • Lesson 5: Meaning of Āyurveda

    • Lesson 6: Āyurvedic Texts

    • Lesson 7: Shad Dharshan

    • Lesson 8: Sankhya - 24 Tattvas

    • Lesson 9: Sankhya - Brahman and Purusha

    • Lesson 10: Sankhya - Prakriti and the 3 Gunas

    • Lesson 11: Sankhya - Maha Bhutas

    • Lesson 12: Sankhya - Jnānendriyas

    • Lesson 13: Sankhya - Karmendriyas

    • Lesson 14: Sankhya - Antahkarana

    • Lesson 15: The Vritti Cycle

    • Lesson 16: Introducing The Three Doshas

About The Instructor

Jennifer Jacobsen

Jennifer Jacobsen is a 500 hour Certified Jyotishi, ERYT-200 trainer, and Yoga Alliance Continuing Education Provider. She has studied and taught Yoga, The Bhagavad Gita, Patanjali Yoga Sutras, Ayurveda and Vedanta for the past 17 years.